Home > Misc. junk, Philadelphia Union, US Youth Teams > Guest post–MLS basher on Wednesday, Union fan on Thursday–the Peter Nowak effect?

Guest post–MLS basher on Wednesday, Union fan on Thursday–the Peter Nowak effect?

The following was sent to me by Gary Kleiban of 3four3.com.

Peter Nowak

Could Peter Nowak and his team convert even the most cynical of MLS cynics?*

***

If someone asked me if I was going to follow the MLS season in 2010, I would have laughed in their face. Surely they were trying to coax me into some vulgarities about the level of play and why I would never waste my time.

However, a month before the draft, I started to take an interest in the league. You see, speculation about our former club opponents, Danny Mwanga and Amobi Okugo, started circulating. Were they going to sign with MLS? These were the players I considered the best forward and defensive midfielder in our age group, and I was very delighted to see that someone in MLS had recognized true quality.

In any case, I tuned into my first ever MLS Superdraft. When one team selected both of these guys, I was ecstatic. That day, I became a Union fan. The players made it so, but I’m also optimistic that we might see some attractive soccer out of Philadelphia. Peter Nowak has proved to me he knows what talent is–something the vast majority of youth, collegiate, and MLS coaches don’t know.

So if someone now asks me if I’ll be watching MLS next season, they’ll be shocked to hear my answer:

“Hell yeah!”

I just might get myself an MLS package (is there such a thing?) so I can watch all the Union games. Oh, and when they come to LA, you can bet your ass I’ll be in the stadium chanting …

“Ooooooh Danny Mwanga, Oooooh Danny Mwanga, …”

–Gary Kleiban

Read more of Gary’s thoughts on US soccer and youth development at his blog, 3four3.

*Photo credit: MLSnet.

  1. Patrick Kennedy
    January 19, 2010 at 1:01 am

    You my friend are a Jack-ass. MLS needs you like they need a hole in the head.

    • K.M. Morris
      January 19, 2010 at 1:23 am

      Hmm, actually, I’d say Mr. Kleiban is exactly the kind of fan that MLS needs: the kind who loves soccer but doesn’t love MLS.

  2. Arkose
    January 19, 2010 at 4:45 am

    Does it really matter if he likes the MLS or not. I’m not a “purist” when it comes to soccer. MLS needs casual fans, I don’t care why the person is watching as long as they are watching MLS.

    Note: Lets get more articles up. I love this stuff, and not many places have any information or even chat.

    • K.M. Morris
      January 19, 2010 at 2:59 pm

      Hi, Arkose, thanks for the comment. To me it does matter if someone like Gary likes MLS. For the league to grow into what I hope it will be it really needs to start attracting guys like him–like I said, the ones who love soccer but not MLS. There is a very sizable part of the US soccer population who are just like him. Converting them to MLS fans would really bolster the league’s fan base.

      Also, just for clarification: what kind of articles are you referring to? Articles on the Philadelphia Union or on the quality of play in MLS?

  3. Arkose
    January 20, 2010 at 2:00 am

    I understand where you are coming from K.M. Morris. The articles I’m talking about are about both. The more Union articles the better. I have not seen many articles dealing with players, and the overall thoughts on the Union team. I understand the team is still being created but I love reading about others thoughts.

    I would like to state that Gary is welcome anytime at one of the tailgates =)

  4. January 24, 2010 at 5:17 am

    Thanks for the comments Arkose!
    I know exactly what you mean, too. Any fan is a good fan. They fill the stadiums, produce TV ratings, buy products, & help raise the profile of the sport we love. All these things ultimately help in raising the level. And I wholeheartedly thank them for it!

    However, I believe it can only take us so far. We also need harsh critics, and a knowledgable fan base to make us elite – that’s what I’m after. If everything is rosy all the time, there is no incentive on the part of coaches and management (at all levels) to do better. We need accountability! I’m ok with being the “bad guy” …

    Thanks for the tailgate invite! Are you in LA? If so, please let me know cuz I will definitely show up.

  1. January 19, 2010 at 12:40 am

Leave a Reply

