Home > Site stuff > The looming strike and the C. Horridus work stoppage

The looming strike and the C. Horridus work stoppage

C. Horridus has been on life-support for a while.

One reason is because I simply don’t have the time. The more important factor, however, is also the more cynical one.

On days that I do have time, when I’m tempted to write something about the Union’s pre-season, I think of the looming strike. I think about all the effort I put into the site over the winter holiday and all the effort I’d need to put into it now. Then I figure there’s a good 30% chance it will all be for nothing. And so I don’t write a thing.

This is the side of the potential work stoppage that people forget about. This disupute affects more than just the players, the league, and, yes, the fans. It’s also about the professionals–or wanna-be professionals–who are staking a lot on the success of this league and the continued popularity of soccer in the US. What about Ives Galarcep and his stunningly succesful site? What about Match Fit USA? American Soccer News? Kyle J. McCarthy and his excellent reporting work on the Revs and the league?

These are all people who depend on MLS, who need the league to continue so they can continue doing what they want to do. If the league shoots itself in the foot, then what happens to these these guys? What about their careers?

And for me, as much as I would like to, I just can’t risk it.  If there’s no work stoppage, then great, I’ll start writing again as soon as the season begins. But my time is too rare right now to waste it on a league that may self-implode.

So MLS, are you listening? Don’t fuck things up. This situation affects far more than just a few hundred players and a gaggle of MLS owners.

Categories: Site stuff Tags: ,
  1. March 15, 2010 at 11:59 pm

    Well said.

    • K.M. Morris
      March 16, 2010 at 12:08 am

      Thanks, Jason.

      By the way, for some reason this comment got sent to the WordPress spam folder. Good thing I check it once in a while . . .

  2. Ian
    March 16, 2010 at 7:34 pm

    Very well put. The people who would end up screwed the most by a work stoppage and likely resulting league implosion are those in Chester, PA, who would be saddled with a multimillion dollar white elephant soccer-specific stadium for a non-existent league to rot alongside everything else that’s been rotting there for over half a century. That would be the real tragedy of a strike.

    MLS strike or not, I’ll still be in attendance the second weekend of April, rooting on a new top-level Philadelphia team in its first-ever home game. The Independence will still be playing in WPS, after all.

    I hope you get to start writing again soon.

  3. K.M. Morris
    March 18, 2010 at 12:45 am

    Ian–thanks for the comment, and good point. I think we could find dozens (hundreds) of examples of groups who will get screwed over by a strike. We can only hope that the folks at the bargaining table have this in mind as well.

    As for the writing–things will start up once the season begins. I just don’t want to spend any more time on the pre-season.

  1. March 18, 2010 at 2:20 pm

Leave a Reply

